Are monkeys lactose intolerant?

By the criteria used for human screening, adult cebus monkeys were "tolerant" to an oral load of lactose (1 g/kg body weight), whereas adult squirrel, rhesus, and galago monkeys were mostly "intolerant.". Author: Chi-Pang Wen, Irena Antonowicz, Eduardo Tovar, Robert B. McGandy, Stanley N. Gershoff