What happened to terence trent d'arby?

D'Arby legally changed his name to Sananda Maitreya on October 4, 2001. He stated, "Terence Trent D'Arby was dead. He watched his suffering as he died a noble death. After intense pain I meditated for a new spirit, a new will, a new identity". Stating, “it was that or death”.