What is the horsepower?

Horsepower (hp) is a unit of measurement of power, or the rate at which work is done, usually in reference to the output of engines or motors. Two common definitions used today are the mechanical horsepower which is about 745.7 watts and the metric horsepower, which is approximately 735.5 watts.