What is the difference between twelve pound ham and twelve pound turkey?

The difference between ham and turkey is that the meat comes from different animals. Ham comes from pigs & turkeys are large fowl. When you cook the two, turkey should be cooked for about 13 minutes per pound while ham should be cooked 18 to 20 minutes per pound.