Is an elk a carnivore?

Elk are herbivorous mammals. Like cattle and other deer they are ruminants, with a multi-stage digestive system specifically adapted to breaking down plant matter. Elk are both grazers and browsers, feeding on grasses, tall plants, tree bark, and lichens.