What's in a sociates degree?

An associate degree is an undergraduate degree awarded after a course of post-secondary study lasting two or three years. It is a level of qualification between a high school diploma or GED and a bachelor's degree. The first associate degrees were awarded in the UK in 1873 before the US in 1898.