How long does chicken last after the sell by date?

The sell by date is not a strong indicator of the age of food. The sell by date is used by store staff to remind themselves to turnover inventory by a certain day. Instead refer to the best before date, and go past it by one day at the most. When in doubt, throw it out. Your stomach will thank you.