How is a pencil made?

At the Pencil Factory a “Groover machine” cuts grooves into the slats to accept the writing core (or “lead”). Writing cores – made from a mixture of graphite and clay – are placed into the grooves. ... Chunks of graphite (a soft, dark mineral) and clay are placed inside a huge rotating drum.