What's the recipe for a old-fashioned?

An old fashioned is contains 2 ounces of whiskey, 3 dashes of butters, and 1 teaspoon of sugar. Many old fashioned also feature an orange peel rubbed on the glass rim and placed in the glass. It is typically served in a low ball glass with one large ice cube.