How big is a bullet?

The measurements in metric are almost always a “diameter to length” ratio; for example, a bullet in the caliber: 5.56x45mm is 5.56mm wide and 45mm long. 9x19mm cartridge is 9mm wide and 19mm long. Shotshells are measured in “gauge”, with a lower number being a larger diameter.