What is s. h. i. r. a. k. o. made of?

Shirako is the milt, or sperm sacs, of male cod. It's served in both raw and cooked form in restaurants all over Japan, but many Japanese consider it an acquired taste. The word “shirako” means “white children,” and it is in season in the winter.