Why does metal catch on fire in the microwave?

Under the right circumstances, metal surfaces allow a phenomenon called "standing waves" to form. Because the microwave tube creates high voltages, these waves can arc from point to point and heat the metal to ignition point. This generally happens only with metals that can be easily ignited.