What can substitute for buttermilk?

To substitute for a cup of buttermilk, use 2 tablespoons of white or cider vinegar or lemon juice and enough milk to measure 1 cup. Stir, then let stand for 5 minutes.

---

Whole milk with either 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice. Let sit for 5 min. You are trying to sour the milk.