When is crappie season in california?

Best fishing of the year takes place once the water warms up to the mid-50s, as early as February in some Southern CA Lakes, but doesn't arrive until April farther north. Crappies feed most actively in the morning and evening, so stick to those times of the day for the highest catch rates.