How strong is sapphire?

Sapphire crystals have a compressive strength of 2,000 Mega Pascals, about 10 times that of stainless steel. No surprise, then, that the stuff is used for applications where optical transparency, high strength, and scratch-resistance are required. The only thing harder than sapphire is diamond.