Where did the hamburger originate from?

The hamburger was invented in Hamburg, Germany by Otto Kuase in 1891. He was a cook who created a very popular sailors' sandwich made of a fillet of beef patty fried in butter, served with a fried egg, between two toasted buns. German immigrants brought the patty to America in the 19th century