Can a hermit crab smell?

Hermit crabs don't have a single nose, like us. They have hundreds. Their inner antenna are covered by scores of thin and short hairs (called aesthetascs) with which they smell. The crabs flick these hairy antenna back and forth to sniff the air, or tap them on the ground to sample the dirt.