What function did goosebumps serve in the ancestors of humans?

Adrenaline, In animals, is the hormone that is released when an animal is cold or facing a stressful situation, preparing the animal for flight-or-fight reaction. Goosebumps are an event inherited from our ancestors, which was useful then, but not for modern man