What does suffrage mean?

Suffrage, in a representative government, is the right to vote in electing public officials, and adopting or rejecting proposed legislation.

---

Suffrage, a noun, means the right to cast a vote in political elections. For example, in the United States females did not originally have the right to vote. The Women's Suffrage Movement was formed to change that, and key leaders of the movement were Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B Anthony.