How many cups are in a pound?

While a cup is 8oz and a pound is 16oz, the substance being weighed makes a difference. For instance, dry pasta is just over 4 and a half cups, all-purpose flour is almost 4 cups, a pound of white sugar is 2.6 cups, and uncooked rice is 2.2 cups. A pound of butter is 2 cups, and cheese is 1 cup.