What are the different types of energy?

The two main classifications of energy are kinetic and potential energy. Potential energy is stored energy, such as the power stored in a battery. Kinetic energy is energy in motion, such as the ions in a battery actively powering a remote control.

---

Energy comes in six basic forms: chemical, electrical, radiant, mechanical, thermal and nuclear.