How does shakespeare present caliban in the tempest?

The island where Shakespeare's "The Tempest" takes place was originally ruled by Sycorax, who was a witch and the mother of Caliban. When Prospero arrived on the island, he imprisoned Sycorax in a tree and made Caliban his slave. Prospero thinks Caliban is a savage. Caliban resents Prospero.