What do maggots come from?

The fly lays eggs, which turn into maggots. "Maggot" is another word for larva. After a pupal stage, maggots turn into flies. Sometimes, it may seem like the maggots appear from nowhere, but it's just that you didn't notice the fly or its eggs. The fly lays hundreds of eggs that hatch within a day.