Why does fire crackle?

The heat from the fire causes the fluids within wood to first boil and turn to steam. The trapped steam begins to exert pressure on the surrounding wood. Eventually, the wood gives way. The snap, crackle, or pop sound you hear is the wood splitting along a crevice and releasing steam into the fire.