When was al capone in alcatraz?

Al Capone was transferred to Alcatraz on August 22, 1934, with the first group of inmates to stay on The Rock. He served a total of 4 ½ years at Alcatraz. He was transferred to Terminal Island Prison in Southern California for the remainder of his sentence. Capone left Alcatraz on January 6, 1939.