Why does earth have oxygen?

The first source of oxygen in our atmosphere was tiny organisms known as cyanobacteria, or blue-green algae: they conduct photosynthesis, using sunshine, water and carbon dioxide to produce carbohydrates and, oxygen. Then came trees and other plants, that also conduct photosynthesis.