What is confectioners glaze?

Confectioners' glaze, also known as pharmaceutical glaze, Is used by numerous candy companies to add a shiny, smooth finish on their products. It is not a vegetarian or vegan ingredient. It is the same type of product as shellac, which is a bug product, just a food grade version.