What's the university of illinois mascot?

In 2005, Chief Illiniwek was one of 19 mascots cited as "hostile or abusive" by the NCAA, banned schools from postseason activities for using such mascots and in 2007 he was retired as the University's mascot. In 2020, the state Senate approved making the Belted Kingfisher the school's mascot.