What is the funked mean?

Defunct, spelled D E F U N C T, refers to something that no longer exists, or functioning, or in use. E.g. A defunct technology, could be 8 tracks or floppy disks. In a business context, it refers to the condition of a company, publicly traded or private, that has gone bankrupt & has ceased to exist