What's the history of whitechapel on the netflix series?

An excellent British crime drama set in Whitechapel, home of the infamous Jack The Ripper murders. A new DI must come to grips with a serial killer who is using history to inspire his murder spree. With a great cast and script this is a juicy crime show to get stuck into.