What's a constituent?

A constituent is a component part of something that makes up a unit or a whole. The word is most commonly used to refer to people who are part of a political or governmental group.

---

The word "constituent" means being a part of a whole. It can also mean being a voting member of a community or organization and having the power to appoint or elect.