Can you mix vegetable oil and olive oil when frying?

I don't see why not. I don't know why you would, olive oil has a lower smoke point and is not a good oil for frying. I suggest if you don't have enough oil shallow fry instead. Peanut oil is the best oil for frying. Beef fat will make everything crisper.