Who is the first female astronaut in space?

Valentina Tereshkova was the first female astronaut to go to space on June 16, 1963, aboard Vostok 6, a Soviet Cosmonaut. After 48 orbits and 71 hours, she returned to earth, having spent more time in space than all U.S. astronauts combined to that date.