Where do they get vanilla flavoring from?

Pure Vanilla extract comes from Vanilla beans, which are from orchid flowers. Imitation vanilla uses natural and synthetic chemicals to make vanilla flavoring.

---

Vanilla comes from the vanilla bean. It is usually extracted in alcohol.