What does b. a. r. r. e. t. t. s. spell?

I'm not sure whether you're asking about "barrettes," B-A-R-R-E-T-T-E-S, which is an ornamental clip worn in the hair; or "Barrett's," B-A-R-R-E-T-T-apostrophe-S, a serious inflammation of the lower esophagus.