What's the difference between green tomatoes and red tomatoes?

Most green tomatoes are unripe red tomatoes. They become red as they ripen, & turn sweeter and more tender. But there are also heirloom tomato versions that remain green when fully ripe. They have different flavors & textures from the red ones whether in their red or green state