What are bes islands?

The Netherlands BES Islands (Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba) are in the Caribbean Sea. They became special municipalities of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in 2010 when the Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist as an autonomous country.