What is the third brightest star?

Canopus, in the Carnia constellation, has an apparent magnitude of -0.72. Only the Sun and Sirius are brighter. If you exclude the Sun, then Rigil Kentauras (also known as Alpha Centauri) is the third brightest star, with an apparent magnitude of -0.27.