What was the tsar red violets are blue?

A nursery rhyme significantly closer to the modern cliché Valentine's Day poem can be found in Gammer Gurton's Garland, a 1784 collection of English nursery rhymes: The rose is red, the violet's blue, ... Violets are blue, roses are red, Violets are blue, I love my loves.