Why are the stores out of toilet paper?

It is an issue of supply and demand. The manufacturers have a fixed production capacity. So, if demand suddenly increases the supply dwindles. If the demand remains high the stores run out of toilet paper. Toilet paper manufacturing plants are expensive to build and take years to construct.