What happened to opie taylor's mother?

The Danny Thomas Show had a back-door pilot of sorts in an episode titled Danny Thomas Meets Andy Griffith. In the program, Taylor says that Opie’s mother died when he was very, very young. However, like in The Andy Griffith Show, it’s a brief discussion that never goes further.