How was tape made?

Adhesive tapes consist of a material called a backing or carrier (paper, plastic film, cloth, foam, foil, etc.), which is coated with an adhesive and a release liner if needed. The adhesive-coated backing or carrier is then wound up to form a long jumbo roll of tape.