What's the difference between dark roast and medium roast coffee?

Dark roast coffee has a darker color and richer taste than medium or light roast, and it's less acidic. Also, light roasts retain some of the flavor characteristics of the original coffee bean, while darker roasts do not. Medium roast is considered a balance between the two.