Is an amaryllis a lily?

Plants of the genus Amaryllis are known as belladonna lily, Jersey lily, naked lady, amarillo, Easter lily in Southern Australia or, in South Africa, March lily due to its propensity to flower around March. However, they are only distantly related to the true lily, Lilium.