Why does compressed air get cold?

As air (or any substance) becomes hotter, its molecules move faster and need more space to move, causing thermal expansion (bigger). As air becomes cooler, molecules move slower and need less space to move. Compressed air has molecules that move less and are squished together, so it is colder.