How big is a fetus?

In humans, the fetal stage starts nine weeks after fertilization. At the start of the fetal stage, the fetus is typically about 3 centimeters or 1.2 inches in length. By the end of the fifth month, the fetus is about 20 centimeters or 8 inches long. It will continue to grow through birth.