Where do the rainbows go?

Rainbows are not physical objects but visual events. Think virtual reality. Light is everpresent. With special circumstances (weather and location) the white light becomes spread apart, so with our limited vision, we see some colors that it contains. Our eyes cannot see the ultraviolet or infrared.