Why does salt kill snails?

When you add salt onto the integument (skin) of the snail, you increase the concentration of sodium and chloride ions in the film of mucus that coats the entire body of the snail. This lowers the water potential of the mucous lining.

---

The slime of a snail is made of 96% water. The chemistry of water allows adding salt to it to balance the mixture 1:1 so adding more salt than water causes dehydration of the majority water based snail, killing it.