What state is lake placid?

Lake Placid (the town) is located in the Adirondack Mountains in New York state. A major claim to fame for the town is that it was the site of the 1932 and 1980 Olympic Games. Lake Placid (the actual lake) is located on the northern border of the town and supplies it with drinking water.