Why does the surgeon general wear a military uniform?

The Surgeon General's uniform signifies participation in deployments. The uniform is modeled after the Navy uniform because the U.S. Public Health Service started as a series of hospitals for merchant seamen. The general in Surgeon General is not a rank, but a title that means he is supervising.